The Riyria Revelations

The Riyria Revelation is a multi-book saga that tells one story in six episodes, rather than a string of sequels based on the first book. The entire epic was completed before the first novel went to press allowing for a tale that unfolds across the whole breadth of the series, with secrets deliberately hinted at in one book being fulfilled in later novels and some saved to the very end. Yet despite this, each book is a full episode, with its own beginning, middle and end, which can be enjoyed independently.

There's no orphan destined to save the world, nor ultimate evil to be slain...
just two guys in the wrong place at the wrong time trying to survive.

Set in an era of knights and kings it is a world dominated by mankind surrounded by a sea of uncharted wilderness and lost knowledge. Elves, once slaves, live in squalor shunned by respectable citizens. Dwarves remain isolated in ghettos, valued for their skills, but restricted from human society.  A world of divided kingdoms left in the wake of a once grand empire now lost to a mythical past. It is a story of swordfights, castle sieges, mythical creatures, sea battles, magic, romance and intrigue where not everything is as it seems and shadows lengthen with each book. What begins as an exciting but simple turn of events in the first novel, grows into a decidedly serious and eventually frightening, spiral of lies and murders whose ultimate purpose remains a mystery.

"Hair-raising escapes, flashy sword fights, and faithful friendship complete the formula
for good old-fashioned escapist fun. "
 -- Publisher's Weekly

The series is intentionally written with a "light hand" avoiding long-winded descriptions of unfamiliar names in order to keep the pace rolling. The result is a story that creates depth though the plot, characters, action and dialog, rather than narration.

"This series has been perhaps the biggest (and most pleasant) surprise I have stumbled upon
in recent years of reading fantasy. "
-- Suite 101

The series is the story of individuals, of characters readers care about, and believe in, despite their flaws; of antagonists who aren't the enemy merely because they are "evil". It is escapist entertainment that once begun, may be hard to escape.  

"Filled with adventure and clever dialog and featuring a pair of not-quite-heroes whose loyalties to
each other provide them with their greatest strength, this epic fantasy showcases the arrival of
a master storyteller."
-- Library Journal (starred review)

The first five books of the series were originally indie published and later picked up by Orbit (fantasy imprint of Hachette Book Group). They are re-releasing the series as a trilogy with each volume containing two of the original books.  The Orbit series consists of:

Theft of Swords (Nov 2011): The Crown Conspiracy and Avempartha
Rise of Empire
(Dec 2011): Nyphron Rising and The Emerald Storm
Heir of Novron
(Jan 2012): Wintertide and Percepliquis

NOTE: There will also be a standalone version of Percepliquis released simultaneously with Heir of Novron.